LA TECTONIQUE DES PLAQUES

UN DÉBAT ENCORE OUVERT

TECTONIQUE DES PLAQUES : UN DÉBAT ENCORE OUVERT - Page 2

Voyons l’Atlantique et la côte ouest de l'Afrique avec la carte Google Earth Global Gravity Anomaly. Remarquez les zones de fractures océaniques se prolongeant indifféremment vers l'intérieur de continent africain. Les tirets noirs mettent en évidence les zones de fractures océaniques qui se prolongent vers l'intérieur de continent africain.

Ces tracés semblent subjectifs au premier regard mais les relevées géologiques détaillés du continent africain confirment l'existence de ces linéaments. L’océanographe Xavier Le Pichon était lui-même troublé de constater l’alignement de la  la fracture Romanche avec les linéaments précambriennes de la côte africaine. Si Le Pichon avait dévoué un peu de temps à la collecte de d’autres indices du genre il aurait vite constaté les faiblesses de la TTP. Entreprendre une telle avenue va à l’encontre de l’engouement de la théorie en vogue au risque de se voir reclus dans une minorité marginale. Depuis les débuts de l’océanographie moderne, les données contredisant la TTP s’accumulent et nous ne sommes toujours pas près de réviser nos paradigmes. Jusqu’à récemment, les forages océaniques avaient peine à percer les sédiments pour atteindre le supposé basalte. Avec le récent lancement du projet Chikyu, nous pourrons enfin trancher la question.

 

Sous le bassin hydrographique de l’Amazone il y a une fosse profonde qui s’est effondrée à l’ère Précambrien. Cette méga structure géologique s’exprime avec toute une série de linéaments qui se prolongent avec les zone de fracture dans l'océan Atlantique.

L’extrémité sud du continent africain est tout aussi intrigant. Le tiret noir indique une zone de fracture océanique qui se prolonge dans la zone côtière du continent en s’harmonisant avec les vielles structures précambriennes.

En 1994, Mon collègue et moi avions soumis une publication pour une conférence international de géologie. Nous proposions une étude entre les linéaments du continent africain, les zones de fractures de l’Atlantique et ceux de l’océan indien.  On y voyait l’illustration suivante.

En orange on voit les provinces archéennes (le plus vieux de l’ère précambrienne). L’un des deux éditeurs a rejeté la publication-conférence citant ouvertement sa position en faveur de la TTP. Pour lui, ces alignements se devaient d'être que des coïncidences. Le deuxième éditeur s’est retrouvé en porte-à-faux nous présentant ses excuses.

 

Plusieurs journaux scientifiques sont exclusivement protagonistes de la TTP. Ils forment un establishment qui résiste depuis des décennies à l’idée d’une continuité entre zones de fracture et les structures continentales. Devant une telle opposition, un chercheur devra se contenter de publier dans une presse gouvernementale, universitaire ou dans un journal comme IBTA ou NCGT Journal. Un éditeur d’une grande revue de tectonique m’a confié un jour qu’il filtrait le contenu des articles pour que lui et son journal ne se mettent pas à dos certains membres influant de la communauté scientifique. Plusieurs journaux de science ont cette attitude, c’est bien connu. J’admets qu’un peu d’orthodoxie en science ne fait pas de mal. Faites-vous une découverte qui bouscule les paradigmes établis ? On est en droit d’exiger de vous une plus grande perspicacité d’argumentation. Certaines découvertes innovatrices furent publiées dans une presse universitaire pour avoir été rejeté par de prestigieuses revues scientifiques pour finalement décrocher un prix Nobel !

 

Je souris toujours lorsque je regarde cette carte de Neev et Hall (2000) publiée dans Geological Survey of Israel Current Research. Les auteurs font une analyse détaillée d’un modèle qu’ils appellent slice tectonics :

Neev et Hall 2000.png

En puisant dans une abondante littérature sur les grands linéaments précambriens continentaux, les auteurs mettent en évidence des prolongations avec les zones de fractures océaniques. Ce qui me fait sourire c’est leur usage d’une rhétorique acrobatique pour épargner la TTP classique.

 

Je ne vais pas les blâmer. Il faut mettre de l’eau dans son vin. En 2004, mon collègue et moi (Friedrich et Leduc) avions publié une étude des courbures des zones de fractures de tous les océans. Nous avions découvert que ces grandes lignes se courbaient dans des directions précises selon leur position au nord ou au sud de l’équateur. Nous avions nommé ce phénomène hemispherical effect. Nos deux éditeurs ont reconnu l’importance de cette découverte.

Nous n’avons pas révélé à nos éditeurs d’où venait notre inspiration. Elle venait de 3 sources : de Neev et Hall (2000), de plusieurs publications dans IBTA et NCGT, et, certaines de nos réflexions diamétralement opposées à la TTP. Pour publier, il faut savoir naviguer entre les écueils. Aussi, à la demande d’un des éditeurs, nous avons omis quelques commentaires qui exposaient certains problèmes de la TTP. Sur la figure suivante nous voyons le fond de l’Atlantique avec ses zones de Fractures. La ligne de tirets rouges met en évidence un croisement évident entre deux zones de fractures.

Selon la TTP ces zones de fractures ne devraient pas se croiser Dans notre article nous n’avons pas insisté sur cette aberration. La ligne rouge ne fut ajoutée que pour cette page web. Ce croisement s’est justement produit au niveau de l’équateur selon la règle de l’effet hémisphérique.

 

Vous avez sans doute déjà contemplé la première carte complète des fonds océaniques publiées par le National Geographic Society (Heeze et Tharp, 1977).

Sur la carte le parallélisme entre les zones de fractures océaniques est remarquablement esthétique. L’illustration colle bien avec le modèle initial de l’expansion des fonds océanique selon la TTP. Déjà dans les années 50s plusieurs océanographes savaient que les fractures océaniques formaient un assemblage complexe de lignes courbes, ponctuées d’interruptions, d’entrecroisements et de prolongements avec des chaines de monts sous-marins. . Certains océanographes ont même souligné le biais de cette carte. Dans les décennies qui suivirent, l’océanographie bathymétrique a fait des progrès considérables surtout avec l’arrivé de projet comme  Seasat.

 

La précision des relevées Seasat met en évidence le croisement orthogonal entre deux grands systèmes de fractures du Pacifique (tirets rouges et jaunes).

Ces croisements sont inexistants sur la carte de Heezen et Tharp de 1977 car les deux systèmes de fractures s’interrompent à l’ouest juste avant leur intersection. Selon l’océanographe Christian Smooth cet omission est volontaire car déjà en 1974 (Smooth, 1993, 1994) les relevés étaient suffisamment précis pour mettre en évidence le croisement des fractures. Pour ajouter au comble, le National Geographic Society republie la carte en 1990 en y apportant quelques corrections toujours en omettant les éléments contrariants pour la TTP.

Pour ceux qui lisent l’anglais je vous prose deux livres de Christian Smooth, géologue océanographe, qui expose les incohérences de la TTP. Ses ouvrages sont d’autant plus pertinents pour découvrir un contexte historique dans lequel l’océanographie fut souvent biaisée en faveur de la TTP.

Ces monographies résument les dizaines d’articles que l’auteur a publié sur 2 décennies. Le plus abasourdissant c’est qu’aucun de ses articles n’a reçu une seule réplique. Pourtant Smooth a toujours publié dans des peer review journals. Comment en sommes-nous venus à ignorer de telles données ?

 

Je tiens à rappeler que dans l’histoire de la géologie jamais une théorie n’avait donné autant d’explications aux nombreux éléments géologique de notre planète. Certains géologues se rappellent que la TTP des années 70s avait causé un engouement si démesuré que les budgets de recherches se réorientaient en sa faveur. Plusieurs chercheurs ambitieux devenaient trop opportunistes pour oser publier les aberrations de la théorie.

 

Je me souviens toujours de cet étudiant qui terminait son doctorat sur la TTP dans un prestigieux département de géophysique. Nous étions en excursion dans les Ardennes Belges. Le soir au repas je lui ai partagé plusieurs publications contredisant la TTP. Il est tombé de sa chaise car jamais il n’avait été exposé à ces articles. Il réalisait comment il avait été gardé dans une bulle d’ignorance. Une autre fois je discutais avec un géophysicien bien connu pour ses modèles sur les mouvements de convection dans le manteau. Je lui partageais les données océaniques en contradiction avec la TTP. Il demeura si incrédule qu’il refusa d’accepter les références suggérées. Il fit le commentaire comme quoi il y aura toujours de ces antagonistes qui s’amusent à troubler l’ordre. Ces articles en question étaient tous basées sur des relevées d’équipes internationales comme Deep Sea Drilling Project.

 

 Le problème semble être de nature sociale ou disons épistémologique. Poursuivons sans devenir trop philosophique…

L’ÉTRANGE SOUBASSEMENT DES CONTINENTS

L’étude de la déformation du socle ancien des continents se nomme basement tectonics (tectonique du soubassement).  Cette science a souvent mis en évidence des corrélations contraignantes pour la TTP. Pendant 3 décennies, les groupes de recherche de cette discipline ont tenté de percer les mystérieux processus à la base de nos continents (Voir IBTA Publications, 1974-2004).

Logo Basement Tectonics.JPG

Le relevé gravimétrique des Etats-Unis (Hildenbrand et al., 1982) met en évidence la structure précambrienne du soubassement. La carte révèle de longs linéaments (Barosh, 1987) courbes qui traversent entièrement le continent.

Hildenbrand USA gravity Barosh.png

Ci-bas, nous avons juxtaposé la carte précédente avec celle du fond de l'Atlantique (Warnken, 2001). Lignes jaunes : Les zones de fracture océanique semble bien se prolonger avec les anciens linéaments précambriens de la croûte continentale.

Gy USA gravity Barosh.PNG

Ces failles bordent de longues bandes de la croûte continentale qui furent décalées latéralement les unes par rapport aux autres. Le plus intrigant c’est que ces lignes se prolongent avec les zones de fracture de l’océan Atlantique. Est-ce une coïncidence ? Ces longues bandes sont des structures très anciennes alors que l’océan est supposé être plus jeunes (Juras au Tertiaire). Plus d’un milliard d’années d’écart devraient séparer les âges des deux croûtes. Un autre aspect étrange c’est la constante ‘réjuvénation’ des soubassements de tous les continents à travers tous les âges. Nous ne traiterons pas ici ce mystère insoluble de la géologie.

 

Kinsland (1983) a même proposé un important décrochement de faille le long d’un des plus importants linéaments des USA. En observant les images de ce mouvement dans le diaporama ci-joint, on perçoit bien les juxtapositions des anciennes structures du soubassement précambrien. Les deux parties de la croûte continental auraient pu se cisailler à la période précambrienne. Avec un zoom in...Les structures précambriennes semblent concorder.

Cette structure semble se prolongé avec les fractures océaniques. Certains géologues ont extrapolé les tracées de ces linéaments à l’échelle du globe. À titre d’exemple, nous avions cité les travaux de Neev et Hall (2000) sur leur théorie dite ‘slice tectonics’. Les lignes des zones de fracture océanique semblent se poursuivent avec celles des linéaments continentaux. Ces alignements est en pure contradiction avec la TTP du moins l’aspect classique de la théorie.

 

 

DU GRANITE CONTINENTAL DANS LE FOND DES OCÉANS

 

Les forages océaniques au-delà des marges continentales demandent de gros budget. Malheureusement ces sondages traversent rarement l’épaisseur de sédiments accumulés sur le plancher océanique. Occasionnellement un forage peut atteindre la couche supérieure du sous bassement composé de lave de basalte. Le gabbro est inatteignable. Nous connaissons sont existence de façon indirecte. Pour en lire plus voir la page de Wikipédia sur la lithosphère océanique.

 

Comme les forages sont onéreux, la technique de dragage du fond est communément utilisée. Par chance, la lourde pelle qui racle le fond peut ramener des morceaux qui viennent des profondeurs de l’écorce océaniques. Les éruptions volcaniques et certaines forces tectoniques modérées font remonter occasionnellement ces précieux échantillons, normalement inaccessibles par forage. Les parois des fractures océaniques sont souvent prisées lorsque l’échantillonnage est possible.

 

A la grande surprise des océanographes les dragages de la dorsale océanique de l’Atlantique a fait remonter une quantité surprenante de roches continentales précambriennes et paléozoïques. Sur la carte on voit un de ces secteurs qui couvre une surface de plus 800,000 km2. On estime qu’il y aurait des milliers d’affleurements. Certains ont évoqués la dérive d’icebergs de l’ère glaciaire qui auraient flotté leur cargaison de moraine continentale avant d’être libérée au-dessus du site . Nos navires modernes vident occasionnellement leur lestage de roches hors de leurs ballasts mais jamais assez pour justifier de telle volume.

Atlantic area with sial.png

Plusieurs géologues croient toujours que la géologie de l’Islande se conforme bien aux prédictions de la TTP. Étrangement, les éruptions volcaniques y ont fait remonter des fragments de nature continental.

 

Je me suis inspiré de plusieurs publications dont Dickins et al (1992) pour compiler une carte des sites océaniques qui ont donné des indices de croûte continental.

Gy Continent in Ocean.JPG

PROMOTION DU GONDWANA

 

Vous reconnaîtrez certainement cette carte du Gondwana si omniprésente dans nos manuels scolaires.

Snider-Pellegrini_Wegener_fossil_map-577

Mais peu d’entre nous savons que l’original fut tiré de l’ouvage d’Edwin H. Colbert publié en 1973 dans Wandering Lands and Animals.

Colbert 1973 Gondwana Fiction.jpg

Pour décrire l’image on pouvait lire “the paleontological links that bind the Gondwana together”. Je traduis “les liens paléontologiques qui relient le Gondwana ensemble.”

 

Curieusement, l’image n’était qu’un schéma hypothétique qui anticipait ce que devraient être les futures découvertes ! Faut-il pardonné Colbert pour cette liberté promotionnelle ? Il est un des paléontologues reconnus pour avoir trouvé des fossiles du Trias en Antarctique. Dans la version couleur, on voit les longues régions de fossile en couleur distinctes qui laissent croire que les pièces du puzzle s'agencent parfaitement. Voici la réalité des connaissances actuelles.

1200px-Wegener_fossils-mapped.png

On n’y voit pas l’esthétisme de la carte de Colbert.

Vous pouvez générer vous-même cette carte sur le site https://paleobiodb.org/navigator/.

Choisissez l’ère Triassic au bas ; entrez les fossiles Lystrosaurus, Glossopteris, Cynognathus et Mesosaurus.

 

Depuis les travaux du sud-africains, Alexandre du Toit (1927, 1937), nous savons que la flore et la faune du Trias circulaient entre les trois continents.

 

Ceux qui s’opposaient à la dérive des continents justifiaient ces répartitions du Trias par l’existence d’anciens isthmes terrestres (en jaune) qui se sont engloutis sous la mer.

isthme Schubert 1932 plate 24.jpg

Le but n’est pas de proposer une théorie contre une autre mais de prendre conscience qu’une démagogie peut facilement s’infiltrer dans notre pédagogie géologique. Les autres sciences comme la physique et la chimie sont constamment mises à l’épreuve par des applications technologiques. Chaque laboratoire peut refaire les mêmes expériences et débusquer la fraude ou la démagogie. En géologie, les théories sont historiques et donc non observables en temps réelle. Il y a donc place à spéculation, soit. Cela n’a rien de négatif tant qu’on est conscient des limites de cette science.

REFERENCES :

 

Barosh, P.J., 1987, Neotectonic Framework of the United States, in Basement Tectonics 7: Proceedings of the Seventh International Conference on Basement Tectonics, held in Kingston, Ontario, Canada, August 1987, Page 277.

 

Bullard, E, Everett, J E and Smith, A G, 1965.  ‘The fit of the continents around the Atlantic’, published in the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, Series A.  Vol.  258, No.  1088, pp 41-5.

 

Dickins J.M., Choi D.R. & Yeates A.N., 1992 ‘Past distribution of oceans and continents’, in: New Concepts in Global Tectonics, Chatterjee & Hotton, 1992, pp. 193-199 (p. 198).

 

du Toit, A.L. and Reed, F.R.C. , 1927, A Geological Comparison of South America with South Africa, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Washington, USA

 

du Toit, A.L., 1937, Our Wandering Continents; An Hypothesis of Continental Drifting, Oliver & Boyd, London, UK

 

Garrett, W.E. (ed.), 1990. Atlantic Ocean Floor. National Geographic, 177, 61 a.   Generalized Bathymetry on World Chart, North Atlantic Area

 

Google Earth Global Gravity Anomaly

  • Source of ocean data:

    • Sandwell, D. T., R. D. Müller, W. H. F. Smith, E. Garcia, R. Francis, 2014, New global marine gravity model from CryoSat-2 and Jason-1 reveals buried tectonic structure, Science, Vol. 346, no. 6205, pp. 65-67, doi: 10.1126/science.1258213, 2014.

  • Source of land data:

    • EGM2008 Gravity Anomalies and DOV Data - Nikolaos K. Pavlis, Simon A. Holmes, Steve C. Kenyon, John K. Factor; Journal of Geophysical Research: Solid Earth (1978-2012) Volume 117, Issue B4, April 2012

 

Friedrich, J. and Leduc, G., 2004, Curvilinear patterns of oceanic fracture zones; Journal of Geodynamics 37(2):169-179, March 2004

 

Hildenbrand, T.G., R.W. Simpson , R.H. Godsen and M.F. Kane, 1982,

‘Digital colored residual and regional Bouguer gravity maps of the conterminous United States with cut-off wavelengths of 250 km and 1000 km’ U.S. Geol. Survey Geophysical Investigation Map, Map GP-0953-A

 

James, K.H., 2010. Observations on New Magnetic Map from The Commission For The Geological Map Of The World. New Concepts in Global Tectonics Newsletter, no. 57.

 

Kinsland, G.L., 1983, Transcontinental Transform Fault Across North America, Basement Tectonics 5: Proceedings of the Fifth International Conference on Basement Tectonics, held Cairo, Egypt in 1983, p.267.

 

Korhonen, J.V. et al., 2007. Carte des Anomalies Magnétiques du Monde. Commission for the Geological Map of the World. Paris

 

Neev, D., Hall, J.K., 2000. Whole mantle convection as the cause of the spiraling global system of lithospheric geosutures. GSI Current Research 12, 168–176.

 

Smith, W.H.F., Sandwell, D. T., 1997, Measured and Estimated Sea Floor Topography (map version 4.2), World Data Center-A for Marine Geology and Geophysics research publication RP-1.

 

SMOOT, N.C., 1993. Bathymetry: Collection, Processing, and Interpretation: NAVOCEANO Train. Man. TM 01-93, 299.

 

SMOOT, N.C., 1994. Plate-wide Pacific trends-orthogonal fracture intersections, EOS, Trans., AGU, 75(25), 69.

 

Thomas, W.A., 1977, Evolution of Appalachian- Ouachita salients and recesses from reentrants and promontories in the continental margin: American Journal of Science, v. 277, p. 1233.

 

Warnken, R., 2001, Global Relief Images, 2-Minute Gridded Elevation Data, NOAA/National Geophysical Data Center, Boulder, Colorado, Download at http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/mgg/image/2minrelief.html.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest

THE PLATE TECTONICS

THEORY THE DEBATE STILL OPEN

THE PLATE TECTONICS THEORY: THE DEBATE STILL OPEN -  PAGE 2

Let's look at the Atlantic and the west coast of Africa with the Google Earth Global Gravity Anomaly Map. Note the zones of oceanic fractures extending indistinctly towards the interior of Africa. The black dashes highlight areas of oceanic fractures that extend into the interior of Africa.

These plots appear subjective at first glance, but the detailed geological records of the African continent confirm the existence of these lineaments. The oceanographer Xavier Le Pichon was disturbed by the sight of such an alignment between the famous Romanche fracture and the Precambrian lineaments of Africa. If Le Pichon had devoted a little time to the collection of other indices of this kind, he would soon notice the weaknesses of the PTT. Undertaking such an avenue goes against the craze of the theory in vogue at the risk of being isolated in a marginal minority. Sometimes a scientist decides not to dwell on something that contradicts his theory. I often did it with my own theoretical models. But when contradictory data accumulates we must revise our paradigms and live with the doubt. Since the beginnings of modern oceanography, data contradicting PTT has been accumulating and still we are unwilling to revise our paradigms. Until recently, ocean drilling was struggling to break through sediment to reach basalt. With the recent launch of the Chikyu project, we will be able to settle the issue.

Under the Amazon basin there is a deep rift that collapsed in the Precambrian era. This mega geological structure is expressed with a series of lineaments that extend with the fracture zone in the Atlantic Ocean.

The southern end of the African continent is equally intriguing. The black dash indicates an oceanic fracture zone that extends into the eastern coastal zone of the continent which is in harmony with old Precambrian structures.

In 1994, my colleague and I submitted a publication for an international geology conference. We proposed a study between the lineaments of the African continent, the fracture zones of the Atlantic and those of the Indian Ocean. We included the following illustration: In orange we see the Archean provinces (the oldest of the Precambrian era). 

In orange we see the Archean provinces (the oldest of the Precambrian era). One of the two editors rejected the conference-publication openly admitting his position in favor of the PTT. For him, these alignments had to be just coincidences. The second publisher found himself in an awkward position apologizing to us.
Several peer review journals are exclusively protagonists of the PTT. They form a decades old establishment that resists against the idea of a continuity between oceanic fracture zones and continental structures. In the face of such opposition, a researcher will have to content himself with publishing in a government or university press or in a journal such as IBTA or NCGT Journal. Once, a publisher of a major tectonic journal told me that he was filtering the content of the articles so that would avoid getting in trouble with some influential members of the scientific community. Several science journals have this attitude, it is well known. I admit that a little bit of orthodoxy in science does not hurt. Do you make a discovery that upsets the traditional paradigms? We are entitled to ask you for more insightful argumentation. Some discoveries were rejected by prestigious scientific journals for being too innovative and then being published in a university press as a last resort before earning a Nobel Prize!

I am still smiling when I look at this map of Neev and Hall (2000) published in the Geological Survey of Israel Current Research. The authors make a detailed analysis of a model they call slice tectonics.

Neev et Hall 2000.png

Drawing on a wealth of literature on major continental Precambrian lineaments, the authors highlight extensions with oceanic fracture zones. What makes me smile is their use of acrobatic rhetoric to save the classic PTT.

I will not blame them. You have to put water in your wine. In 2004, my colleague and I (Friedrich and Leduc) published a study of the curvilinear aspect of fracture zones of all oceans. We had discovered that these broad lines curved in precise directions according to their position north or south of the equator. We named this phenomenon hemispherical effect. Our two publishers acknowledged that this discovery was important.

We did not reveal to our publishers where our inspiration came from. It came from 3 sources: Neev and Hall (2000), several publications in IBTA and NCGT, and some of our thoughts diametrically opposed to the PTT. To publish, you learn how to navigate between reefs. Also, at the request of one of the publishers, we omitted some comments exposing the PTT problems. In the following figure we see the bottom of the Atlantic with its Fracture zones. The red dashed line highlights an obvious crossing between two fracture zones.

According to the PTT these fracture zones should not intersect. In our article we did not insist on this aberration. The red dashed line was added only for this web page. This crossing occurred precisely at the equator according to the rule of the so call hemispheric effect.

We all have seen the first complete map of ocean floors published by the National Geographic Society (Heeze and Tharp, 1977).

On the map the parallelism between oceanic fracture zones is remarkably aesthetic. The illustration fits well with the initial model of ocean floor spreading according to the PTT. Already in the 1950s several oceanographers knew that oceanic fractures formed a complex assemblage of curved lines, punctuated by interruptions, intercrossing with extension with chains of seamounts. Some oceanographers have even emphasized the bias of this map. In the decades that followed, bathymetric oceanography made considerable progress, especially with the arrival of a project like  Seasat.

The accuracy of the Seasat records highlights the orthogonal crossing between two large systems of large Pacific fractures (red and yellow dashed lines). 

These crossovers are not visible on the Heezen and Tharp map of 1977 because the two fracture systems are interrupted in the West just before their intersection. According to the oceanographer Christian Smooth this omission was intentionally done. Indeed, already in 1974 (Smooth, 1993, 1994) the surveys were precise enough to highlight the crossover of these fractures. To add to this irony, the National Geographic Society republished the “implemented” 1990 map BUT still omitting these elements so fatal for the PTT.

I prose two books by Christian Smooth, geologist oceanographer, which expose the inconsistencies of the PTT. His books are more relevant for discovering a historical context in which oceanography was often biased in favor of the PTT.

These monographs summarize dozens of articles that the author has published over 2 decades. The most staggering thing is that none of his articles have received a single reply. Yet, Smooth has always published in peer review journals. How did we come to ignore such data?

 

I would like to remind our readers that in the history of geology, no theory has given so many “explanations” to the many geological elements of our planet. Some geologists remember that the PTT of the 70s had caused a craze so disproportionate that the research budgets were reorienting in favour of this theory.  Many ambitious researchers became too opportunistic to dare to publish the aberrations of the theory.

 

I always remember this student who was finishing his PhD on PTT in a prestigious geophysics department. We were on an excursion in the Belgian Ardennes. In the evening at the meal I shared with him several publications contradicting the PTT. He fell out of his chair because he had never been exposed to these articles. He realized how he was kept in ignorance.

 

Another time I was talking with a geophysicist well known for his models on the convection movements in the mantle. I shared with him some Pacific ocean data contradicting PTT. He remained so incredulous that he refused to check the suggested references. He made the comment that there will always be those antagonists who entertain themselves by disturbing the order. These articles were all based on reports from international teams such as  Deep Sea Drilling Project.

 

The problem seems to be of social nature or an issue in epistemology. 

THE STRANGE BASEMENT OF THE CONTINENTS

The study of the deformation of the ancient continent basement is named basement tectonics. For 3 decades, research groups in this discipline have tried to break through the mysterious processes at the base of our continents (See IBTA Publications, 1974-2004).

Logo Basement Tectonics.JPG

The United States gravimetric survey (Hildenbrand et al., 1982) highlights the Precambrian structure of the bedrock. The map reveals long curving lineaments (Barosh, 1987) ) crossing the entire continent.

Hildenbrand USA gravity Barosh.png

Below, we have juxtaposed the previous map with that of the bottom of the Atlantic (Warnken, 2001). Yellow lines: The oceanic fracture zones that seem to extend with the old Precambrian lineaments of the continental crust.

Gy USA gravity Barosh.PNG

These fault lines limit long strips of the continental crust that were laterally offset from each other. The most intriguing aspect are these lines extending with the fracture zones of the Atlantic Ocean. Is this a coincidence? These long strips are very old structures while the ocean is supposed to be younger (Jurassic to Tertiary). More than a billion years apart should separate the ages of the two crusts. Another strange aspect is the constant 'rejuvenation' of the foundations of all continents across all ages. Moreover, many geologists had recognized that the North American basins were subsiding according to these basement structures.  We will not deal here with this mystery of geology.

Kinsland (1983) even proposed a major fault break along one of the most important lineaments of the USA. By observing the images of this movement in the sideshow below, we can clearly see the juxtapositions of the ancient structures of the Precambrian basement. Both parts of the continental slices were sheared in the Precambrian period. With a zoom in... Precambrian structures seem to agree.

This structure seems to be prolonged with oceanic fractures. Some geologists have extrapolated the lines of these lineaments to the globe. As an example, we previously cited the work of Neev and Hall (2000) about their so-called slice tectonics theory. The lines of the oceanic fracture zones seem to be continuing with those of the continental lineaments. These alignments are in complete contradiction with the PTT, at least with the conventional view of the theory.

 

CONTINENTAL GRANITE IN THE OCEAN BOTTOM

 

Ocean drilling beyond continental margins need big budget. Unfortunately, these boreholes rarely cross the whole thickness of sediments accumulated on the ocean floor. Occasionally a borehole reaches the basement composed of basalt lava. The gabbro is unreachable. We know its existence indirectly. To read more see Wikipedia on oceanic lithosphere.

 

Since drilling is expensive, the bottom dredging technique is commonly used. Luckily, the heavy shovel that scrapes the bottom can bring back pieces that come from the depths of the oceanic crust. Volcanic eruptions and some moderate tectonic forces occasionally bring back these precious samples normally inaccessible by drilling. The walls of oceanic fractures are often valued when sampling is possible.

 

To the great surprise of the oceanographers, the dredging of the Atlantic Ocean Ridge has sample a surprising amount of Precambrian and Paleozoic continental rock. On the map below, we see a sector that covers an area of over 800,000 km2. It is estimated that there are thousands of outcrops.

Atlantic area with sial.png

Some might suggest that Ice ages icebergs floated their continental moraine cargo before dropping them over the site. Our modern ships occasionally unload their ballast in the mid of the ocean. We hardly believe in these 2 explanations.

 

Many geologists still believe that Iceland's geology complies well to the predictions of PTT. Strangely, volcanic eruptions have brought from deep down to the surface fragments of continental minerals.

 

I was inspired by several publications including Dickins et al (1992) to compile a map of oceanic sites that gave indices of continental crust.

Gy Continent in Ocean.JPG

GONDWANA PROMOTION

 

Everyone will recognize this famous map of Gondwana so ubiquitous in our textbooks.

Snider-Pellegrini_Wegener_fossil_map-577

But few of us are aware that the original was taken from the work of Edwin H. Colbert’s Wandering Lands and Animals published in 1973.

Colbert 1973 Gondwana Fiction.jpg

The caption of the picture states "Gondwanand reassembled, and some of the paleontological links that bind it together".

Curiously, the image was only a promotional schema which anticipates future discoveries waiting on the field. Should we forgive Colbert for this advertising artistic license? He is one of the paleontologists who Triassic fossils in Antarctica. In the color version, we can see the long, distinct color regions (by product of the fossils sorting) which suggest how nicely the pieces of the puzzle fit together. Here is the reality of our current knowledge:

1200px-Wegener_fossils-mapped.png

We do not see the aesthetics of Colbert’s map. You can generate this map yourself at https://paleobiodb.org/navigator/.

Choose Triassic era at the bottom; enter the fossils Lystrosaurus, Glossopteris, Cynognathus and Mesosaurus and then you are.

Thanks to the microeos.wordpress website for the above info.

 

Since the work of South Africans, Alexandre du Toit (1927, 1937), we know that the flora and fauna of the Triassic circulated between the three continents. Those who opposed the continental drift proposed that these Triassic fossils were spread across on ancient bridges (in yellow) later submerged under the ocean.

isthme Schubert 1932 plate 24.jpg

The aim is not to propose one theory against another but to realize that demagogy can easily infiltrate our geological pedagogy. Other sciences such as physics and chemistry are constantly challenged by technological applications. Each institute can repeat the same experiences and flush out frauds or demagoguery. In geology, theories are historical and therefore many events are unobservable in real time. There is no time travelling.

REFERENCES :

 

Barosh, P.J., 1987, Neotectonic Framework of the United States, in Basement Tectonics 7: Proceedings of the Seventh International Conference on Basement Tectonics, held in Kingston, Ontario, Canada, August 1987, Page 277.

 

Bullard, E, Everett, J E and Smith, A G, 1965.  ‘The fit of the continents around the Atlantic’, published in the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, Series A.  Vol.  258, No.  1088, pp 41-5.

 

Dickins J.M., Choi D.R. & Yeates A.N., 1992 ‘Past distribution of oceans and continents’, in: New Concepts in Global Tectonics, Chatterjee & Hotton, 1992, pp. 193-199 (p. 198).

 

du Toit, A.L. and Reed, F.R.C. , 1927, A Geological Comparison of South America with South Africa, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Washington, USA

 

du Toit, A.L., 1937, Our Wandering Continents; An Hypothesis of Continental Drifting, Oliver & Boyd, London, UK

 

Garrett, W.E. (ed.), 1990. Atlantic Ocean Floor. National Geographic, 177, 61 a.   Generalized Bathymetry on World Chart, North Atlantic Area

 

Google Earth Global Gravity Anomaly

  • Source of ocean data:

    • Sandwell, D. T., R. D. Müller, W. H. F. Smith, E. Garcia, R. Francis, 2014, New global marine gravity model from CryoSat-2 and Jason-1 reveals buried tectonic structure, Science, Vol. 346, no. 6205, pp. 65-67, doi: 10.1126/science.1258213, 2014.

  • Source of land data:

    • EGM2008 Gravity Anomalies and DOV Data - Nikolaos K. Pavlis, Simon A. Holmes, Steve C. Kenyon, John K. Factor; Journal of Geophysical Research: Solid Earth (1978-2012) Volume 117, Issue B4, April 2012

 

Friedrich, J. and Leduc, G., 2004, Curvilinear patterns of oceanic fracture zones; Journal of Geodynamics 37(2):169-179, March 2004

 

Hildenbrand, T.G., R.W. Simpson , R.H. Godsen and M.F. Kane, 1982,

‘Digital colored residual and regional Bouguer gravity maps of the conterminous United States with cut-off wavelengths of 250 km and 1000 km’ U.S. Geol. Survey Geophysical Investigation Map, Map GP-0953-A

 

James, K.H., 2010. Observations on New Magnetic Map from The Commission For The Geological Map Of The World. New Concepts in Global Tectonics Newsletter, no. 57.

 

Kinsland, G.L., 1983, Transcontinental Transform Fault Across North America, Basement Tectonics 5: Proceedings of the Fifth International Conference on Basement Tectonics, held Cairo, Egypt in 1983, p.267.

 

Korhonen, J.V. et al., 2007. Carte des Anomalies Magnétiques du Monde. Commission for the Geological Map of the World. Paris

 

Neev, D., Hall, J.K., 2000. Whole mantle convection as the cause of the spiraling global system of lithospheric geosutures. GSI Current Research 12, 168–176.

 

Smith, W.H.F., Sandwell, D. T., 1997, Measured and Estimated Sea Floor Topography (map version 4.2), World Data Center-A for Marine Geology and Geophysics research publication RP-1.

 

SMOOT, N.C., 1993. Bathymetry: Collection, Processing, and Interpretation: NAVOCEANO Train. Man. TM 01-93, 299.

 

SMOOT, N.C., 1994. Plate-wide Pacific trends-orthogonal fracture intersections, EOS, Trans., AGU, 75(25), 69.

 

Thomas, W.A., 1977, Evolution of Appalachian- Ouachita salients and recesses from reentrants and promontories in the continental margin: American Journal of Science, v. 277, p. 1233.

 

Warnken, R., 2001, Global Relief Images, 2-Minute Gridded Elevation Data, NOAA/National Geophysical Data Center, Boulder, Colorado, Download at http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/mgg/image/2minrelief.html.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest